PHYSIOGRAPHY 17

Lawrence, and the Petit Saguenay, a tributary of the Saguenay River. Salmon is the principal catch but salmon trout is also sought. Hunting was generally prohibited in the parks until 1962. Moose hunting for wildlife-management purposes is now allowed, for Quebec residents only, in the following parks: Laurentide, La Vérendrye, Matane, Portneuf, Mont-Tremblant, St. Maurice, Haute-Mauricie and Dunière. Deer hunting is permitted in Rimouski Park under certain conditions. In 1972, small game hunting was also permitted in Papineau-Labelle, Mastigouche, Joliette, Portneuf, St. Maurice, Rimouski and Matane parks. Anticosti Island is now administered by the Parks Branch and deer hunting is permitted there as is salmon fishing in six streams. Registration is by lottery.

The growing popularity of camping by the local population and visitors to Quebec has led the Parks Branch to increase the number of campsites as a supplement to the network of privately operated sites. In eastern Quebec, provincial campsites are located at Carleton, Port-Daniel, Moisie, Mont St. Pierre, Percé, Amqui and Trois-Pistoles; at Îles-de-la-Madeleine, there are camping grounds at Grande-Entrée and Gros-Cap. Closer to Quebec City are St. Alexandre (Kamouraska), Montmagny, St. Jean (Île d'Orléans), Stoneham, Villeneuve, Vincennes (Beaumont) and St. Joseph (Beauce). More or less surrounding Metropolitan Montreal are the parks of Mont-Orford, des Voltigeurs (Drummondville), Côte-Sainte-Catherine, Paul-Sauvé (Oka), Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Pointe-des-Cascades, Coteau-Landing and Sainte-Véronique.

The government has provided safe and attractive snowmobile trails in several parks since 1971: Portneuf, St. Maurice, Paul-Sauvé (Oka), Mont-Tremblant, Joliette, Mastigouche, Papineau-Labelle parks. Cross-country skiing has become a favourite sport especially for families and groups of friends. The Parks Branch has laid out trails in some parks, particularly in the Mercier Camp area of Laurentide Park where heated facilities were installed. Trails are well marked and of various lengths and degrees of difficulty. Mont-Orford, Mont-Tremblant and Paul-Sauvé parks also received large numbers of cross-country skiing and snowshoeing enthusiasts.

Ontario. There are 116 provincial parks available for public use in Ontario and several new parks are in process of development; 135 other areas, comprising 1,965 sq miles, are held in reserve for future development. The total area of the Ontario provincial park system is about 18,314 sq miles. The parklands are administered by the Parks Division of the Ministry of Natural Resources. The seven largest parks — Polar Bear, Algonquin, Quetico, Lake Superior, Missinaibi, Killarney and Sibley — have a combined area of about 15,076 sq miles. Polar Bear Park is the largest in the system, occupying 9,300 sq miles of Hudson Bay Lowland bordering Hudson and James bays containing boreal forest, tundra and arctic flora and fauna. Algonquin Park covers 2,910 sq miles, has 14 picnic and camping areas accessible by car and offers particularly fine canoeing opportunities in the interior.

Under the Wilderness Areas Act of 1959, 40 wilderness areas have been established. They vary in size, character and significance but all were established for their historic, scientific, aesthetic or cultural values. In 1967 a policy of park classification and parkland zoning was established to achieve a balanced park system and to provide a framework for positive and effective development and management. Five park classes were established — primitive, natural environment, wild river, nature reserve and recreation. Comparable zones within parks were also established — primitive, natural, historic, multiple use and recreation. Some areas once protected under the Wilderness Areas Act for their scientific values are being changed in law to be protected as nature reserves under the Provincial Parks Act. There are now six nature reserves, four of which were previously under the Wilderness Areas Act. All nature reserves contain natural features and phenomena that are either unique or typical of the primitive or contemporary landscapes which together form the ecological mosaic of Ontario. By the end of 1973, there were five wild river parks in existence, Mississagi, Chapleau–Nemegosenda, Lady Evelyn, Mattawa and Winisk.

To meet the rising pressures for recreational space Ontario created the North Georgian Bay Recreational Reserve which covers 4,500 sq miles of country lying generally between Algoma and Parry Sound on the north shore of Georgian Bay and includes the channel between Manitoulin Island and the mainland, the 30,000 islands, the route of the voyageurs by way of French River, the remaining shoreline of Lake Nipissing and the La Cloche